An introduction to V model in testing

| | 2 min read

V - Model of testing means Verification and Validation Model. Like the Waterfall Model, the V-Shaped life cycle is a sequential path of execution of processes. Each phase should be completed before the next phase begins. Testing of the product is done in parallel with a corresponding phase of development and this type of model finds its use in projects with no rapid requirement change.

Verification phase

  • Business Requirement Analysis : This is the first phase in the development cycle which includes studying the product requirements from the customer perspective.
  • System Design : System design deals with understanding and detailing the hardware and communication setup for the product under development.
  • Architectural Design : System design can be broken down further into modules taking up different functionality which is also referred to as High Level Design (HLD).
  • Module Design : In this phase the internal design for all the system modules is listed out and is also known as Low Level Design (LLD).
  • Coding Phase : The actual coding of the system modules that were designed in the design phase takes place in coding phase.

Validation Phases

  • Unit Testing : Here the unit test cases that were created in the Low level design phase are executed.
  • Integration Testing : Here the integration test cases which were created in the Architectural design phase are executed.
  • System Testing : Here the functional test cases and nonfunctional test cases are executed.
  • Acceptance Testing : Here testing is done to make sure that the business requirements are met in the user environment.

If you have any queries, please drop us a line.